No Buts

Whoopee! Finally, something was going to be done! He was all in on the plan until it suddenly became personal: “Therefore, come now, and I will send you to Pharaoh, so that you may bring My people, the sons of Israel, out of Egypt” (Exodus 3:10 NASB).

But God was making a mistake! Who was he for this momentous undertaking? When God’s answer dismissed that, Moses produced another objection.

But he didn’t know enough to handle the questions that would be thrown at him in Egypt. God met that objection and Moses had another.

But he would be discredited. God then endowed Moses with three signs to demonstrate divine power. Again, Moses argued with God.

But he was not eloquent. He did not have talent to match the task.

God said, “And who do you think made the human mouth? And who makes some mute, some deaf, some sighted, some blind? Isn’t it I, God? So, get going. I’ll be right there with you—with your mouth! I’ll be right there to teach you what to say.” (Exodus 4:11-12 MSG)

His bag of buts now empty, Moses resorted to begging. “But he said, ‘O my Lord, please send someone else’” (Exodus 4:13 NRSV).

Unlike Moses, Isaiah was desperate to go when he heard the word “send”:

Then I heard the voice of the Lord, saying, “Whom shall I send, and who will go for Us?” Then I said, “Here am I. Send me!” (Isaiah 6:8 NASB)

Isaiah volunteered. And that was before he knew the job description! Isaiah was willing to serve God no matter what, no matter where, no matter how. No buts.


DSC_0555
TIP: Christianbook.com is selling the eBook $2 less than Amazon is.

6 thoughts on “No Buts

  1. As a teen I has just sure God wanted me to marry a preacher or missionary and that it might mean going to Africa or China….I agreed……but those were my thoughts not His. Instead He had a special godly plumber picked out for me and Pattison for goodness sakes. He really does know best.

    Like

Leave a Reply

